SIGs and TIGs: How to Get Involved

You’ve heard about them, and perhaps even thought some of them would be fun – and maybe valuable – to join.

Unfortunately, you probably didn’t know how.

We’re talking about TIGs and SIGs – or, for those more formal, Technical Interest Groups and Special Interest Groups, respectively – the new group organizational model created by AAPG.

TIGs and SIGs are designed to encourage greater Member participation in specific topics or interests – and to enhance Member engagement with other Members, and with AAPG.

But what is the current roster of TIGs and SIGs – and who do you contact to join their fun?

For general information on the programs, contact HQ staff Susan Nash (snash@aapg.org) for TIGs and Vern Stefanic (vstefan@aapg.org) for SIGs.

For specific information, here’s the list of active groups to date, with contact information – with more due in the coming months:

Please log in to read the full article

You’ve heard about them, and perhaps even thought some of them would be fun – and maybe valuable – to join.

Unfortunately, you probably didn’t know how.

We’re talking about TIGs and SIGs – or, for those more formal, Technical Interest Groups and Special Interest Groups, respectively – the new group organizational model created by AAPG.

TIGs and SIGs are designed to encourage greater Member participation in specific topics or interests – and to enhance Member engagement with other Members, and with AAPG.

But what is the current roster of TIGs and SIGs – and who do you contact to join their fun?

For general information on the programs, contact HQ staff Susan Nash (snash@aapg.org) for TIGs and Vern Stefanic (vstefan@aapg.org) for SIGs.

For specific information, here’s the list of active groups to date, with contact information – with more due in the coming months:

TIGS

• CO2 Enhanced Oil Recovery

Best practices and emerging technologies for economically recovering oil using CO2 enhanced oil recovery methods – Jesse Garnett White (white.jesse.garnett@gmail.com) and Mike Raines (mike.raines@whiting.com).

• Geochemistry in Exploration

Exploring the latest technologies and innovations in geochemistry to more successfully identify exploration targets, create basin and reservoir models, and develop fields – Michael Abrams (m.abramstx@gmail.com).

• Drones and Drone Data

Technology and techniques (equipment, software, workflows, survey designs) to help explorers enhance their capabilities with data obtained from drones and drone surveys – Karl Osvald (kosvald@blm.gov) and James McDonald (jmcdonald121@gmail.com).

• Surface Geochemistry

Best practices and technologies, including theory of vertical migration, optimal sampling methods, caveats, statistical analysis of data, radiometrics, iodine, soil gas, petroleum fluorescence, microbial, XRF and trace metals to locate areas of micro-seepage – Steve Tedesco (steven.a.tedesco14@runningfoxes.com).

• Reservoir Revitalization

New techniques, products and technologies for revitalizing reservoirs and finding financing – Bill Fairhurst (bfairhurst@riverford-resources.com).

•Geology of Cuba

To improve dissemination of Cuba’s geological information – Paul Crevello (p.crevello@gmail.com).

• Reservoir Development

To support, promote and disseminate knowledge about best practices and emerging technologies for reservoir development, from a wide array of reservoirs – Sochi Iwuoha (sochi.iwuoha@mail.com

).

• Petrophysics

Provide a platform for petrophysics as an integrated discipline of AAPG, with interdisciplinary knowledge sharing and keeping up with petrophysical innovation – Matt Boyce (matt_boyce@swn.com).

SIGS

• Young Professionals

Pitched to geoscience professionals aged 35 and younger, providing opportunities for networking, career guidance, learning, enhancing professional competence and entertainment activities – Jon Allen (jonathan.allen@chevron.com).

• PROWESS (Professional Women in Earth Sciences)

A group interested and involved in increasing participation and advancement of women in earth sciences and the energy industry, with an emphasis on education, outreach, support, leadership development, forums and networking opportunities – Barbara Tillotson (barbaratillotson@hotmail.com).

You may also be interested in ...