Please log in to read the full article

Winners for the best oral and poster presentations at the recent AAPG International Conference and Exhibition in Rio de Janeiro have been announced.

The awards will be presented during the opening session at the next AAPG Annual Convention and Exhibition, set April 11-14 in New Orleans.

Those to be honored are:

Gabriel Dengo Memorial Award

(best paper)

Pedro V. Zalán, with Petrobras in Rio de Janeiro, for the paper “Stretching and Thinning of the Upper Lithosphere and Continental-Oceanic Crustal Transition in Southeastern Brazil.”

His co-authors are Maria do Carmo G. Severino, João Alberto B. Oliveira, Luciano P. Magnavita, Webster U. Mohriak, Rogério C. Gontijo, Adriano R. Viana and Peter Szatmari, all with Petrobras.

Ziad Beydoun Memorial Award

(best poster)

Paul Markwick, Mohamed Raddadi, Lauren Raynham, Steve Tomlinson, Emma Edgecombe, Dennis Rowland, Robert Bailiff, Amanda Galsworthy and Neil Wrobel, for the poster “The Evolution of the South Atlantic Hinterlands from the Late Jurassic to Recent: Mapping Stage Level Changes in Source-to-Sink Relationships.”

All authors are with Getech Group, Leeds, England.

You may also be interested in ...